F1 Spanish Grand Prix: All-Time Winners


The 2019 Spanish Grand Prix will take place at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya in Barcelona on 12th May. Spanish Grand Prix is one of the oldest race in the world which celebrated its centenary in 2013. The race officially became a regular part of the Formula One World Championship in 1968 and has been conducted at a variety of venues.

Michael Schumacher is the driver with the most Spanish Grand Prix wins who has won the race on 6 occasions. The Spanish GP has been held 59 times so far, check the complete winners’ list in the table below.

Who Won the First Spanish GP?

The first Spanish Grand Prix was conducted in 1913 at the Guadarrama. Carlos de Salamanca was the first driver to grab the win and Rolls-Royce was the first recorded constructor to win the Spanish Grand Prix. There was a long gap before the second race, which was held in 1923 and Albert Divo won the driver’s title.

Carlos de Salamanca won the first Spanish GP

Another two years gap was seen before the third race and was shown in 1926. There were several breaches until 1985 and since 1986, the Spanish Grand Prix has been going on regularly every year. Since 1986, the race has been held in two venues, Jerez and Catalunya.

Who has Won the Most Spanish Grand Prix Titles?

The driver to have won the most Spanish Grand Prix titles is the retired German racer, Michael Schumacher. He lifted the trophy 6 times with his first win in 1995 and his recent win was in 2004. He won his first title when he was racing for the constructor Benetton-Renault.

Later he raced with Ferrari and went on to win 4 titles in a row in 2001, 2002, 2003, and 2004. His first win with the Ferrari came in 1996. Schumacher declared that he would retire from Formula One in 2006, but returned in 2010 with Mercedes.

He was able to achieve his only podium on his return at the 2012 European Grand Prix, where he finished third. He officially retired for a second time at the end of the 2012 season. He has won a total of 7 Championships at Formula One.

Who Won the 2018 Spanish Grand Prix?

The 2018 Spanish Grand Prix was the 5th race in the 2018 Formula one World Championship and for the 28th time, the World Championship round was conducted at the Barcelona-Catalunya circuit. The driver who won the 2018 title was the defending champion, Lewis Hamilton.

Hamilton won the title for the 3rd time, with his first win in 2014. The 2018 Formula One Constructor’s Championship was won by Mercedes and it was their 6th title at Formula One. The constructor to have won the Spanish GP title the most is Ferrari with 12 wins. Along with Hamilton, 5 other drivers have won the title thrice.

Drivers with More than One Spanish GP Wins

Since the inception of the Spanish Grand Prix in 1913, 12 drivers have lifted the trophy more than once. The most successful driver of the Spanish GP is Michael Schumacher who has won the title 6 times and till date, no driver has reached the record set by him.

  • Michael Schumacher – 6 titles (1995, 1996, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004)

The Spanish Grand Prix has been won thrice by 6 different drivers.

  • Louis Chiron – 1928, 1929, 1933
  • Jackie Stewart – 1969, 1970, 1971
  • Nigel Mansell – 1987, 1991, 1992
  • Alain Prost – 1988, 1990, 1993
  • Mika Hakkinen – 1998, 1999, 2000
  • Lewis Hamilton – 2014, 2017, 2018

The title was won by 5 different drivers twice.

  • Emerson Fittipaldi – 1972, 1973
  • Mario Andretti – 1977, 1978
  • Ayrton Senna – 1986, 1989
  • Kimi Raikkonen – 2005, 2008
  • Fernando Alonso – 2006, 2013

Complete List of Spanish Grand Prix Winners

The Spanish Grand Prix has been conducted for more than 100 years now and we have listed down all the drivers and constructors who have won the title since its inception in 1913. Find the Spanish GP winners of all time in the table shared below.

2018Lewis HamiltonMercedesCatalunya
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2016Max VerstappenRed Bull-TAG Heuer
2015Nico RosbergMercedes
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2013Fernando AlonsoFerrari
2012Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Renault
2011Sebastian VettelRed Bull-Renault
2010Mark WebberRed Bull-Renault
2009Jenson ButtonBrawn-Mercedes
2008Kimi RäikkönenFerrari
2007Felipe MassaFerrari
2006Fernando AlonsoRenault
2005Kimi RäikkönenMcLaren-Mercedes
2004Michael SchumacherFerrari
2003Michael SchumacherFerrari
2002Michael SchumacherFerrari
2001Michael SchumacherFerrari
2000Mika HäkkinenMcLaren-Mercedes
1999Mika HäkkinenMcLaren-Mercedes
1998Mika HäkkinenMcLaren-Mercedes
1997Jacques VilleneuveWilliams-Renault
1996Michael SchumacherFerrari
1995Michael SchumacherBenetton-Renault
1994Damon HillWilliams-Renault
1993Alain ProstWilliams-Renault
1992Nigel MansellWilliams-Renault
1991Nigel MansellWilliams-Renault
1990Alain ProstFerrariJerez
1989Ayrton SennaMcLaren-Honda
1988Alain ProstMcLaren-Honda
1987Nigel MansellWilliams-Honda
1986Ayrton SennaLotus-Renault

Not held
1981Gilles VilleneuveFerrariJarama
1980Alan JonesWilliams-Ford
1979Patrick DepaillerLigier-Ford
1978Mario AndrettiLotus-Ford
1977Mario AndrettiLotus-Ford
1976James HuntMcLaren-Ford
1975Jochen MassMcLaren-FordMontjuïc
1974Niki LaudaFerrariJarama
1973Emerson FittipaldiLotus-FordMontjuïc
1972Emerson FittipaldiLotus-FordJarama
1971Jackie StewartTyrrell-FordMontjuïc
1970Jackie StewartMarch-FordJarama
1969Jackie StewartMatra-FordMontjuïc
1968Graham HillLotus-FordJarama
1967Jim ClarkLotus-Cosworth

Not held
1954Mike HawthornFerrariPedralbes

Not held
1951Juan Manuel FangioAlfa RomeoPedralbes

Not held
1935Rudolf CaracciolaMercedes-BenzLasarte
1934Luigi FagioliMercedes-BenzLasarte
1933Louis ChironAlfa Romeo

Not held
1929Louis ChironBugattiLasarte
1928Louis ChironBugatti
1927Robert BenoistDelage
1926Bartolomeo CostantiniBugatti

Not held
1923Albert DivoSunbeamSitges-Terramar

Not held
1913Carlos de SalamancaRolls-RoyceGuadarrama


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here