Hungarian Grand Prix Winners: All-Time Champions


The Hungarian Grand Prix took a long break before it ran regularly as a Formula One World Championship event from 1986. Till date, the Grand Prix has been staged 34 times and 33 times as an F1 World Championship event. Since the inception of the race in 1936, 18 drivers have lifted the trophy at least once.

The 2019 Hungarian Grand Prix will be the 12th round of the 2019 F1 World Championship and will mark the 35th edition of the race. The driver who will enter the Hungaroring circuit as the defending champion on 4th August 2019 is the British racing driver Lewis Hamilton.

Who Won the First Hungarian GP?

Tazio Nuvolari 1936 Hungarian Gp
The first Hungarian GP was won by the Italian driver Tazio Nuvolari.

The first Hungarian GP was held in 1936 at the Népliget and the driver who was crowned as the winner of Hungarian GP was the Italian racing driver Tazio Nuvolari. He drove with Alfa Romeo and it was his only recorded win at the race as the event took a break of 49 years before the 2nd edition of the Hungarian GP.

Hungarian Grand Prix was categorized under the non-championship event and was the 13th race in 1936. The event was officially part of the F1 World Championship from 1986 onwards and the race has been held every year since then. The first official Hungarian GP was won by Williams-Honda’s Nelson Piquet in 1986.

In 1986, the race was conducted as the 11th race of the World Championship and was featured at the Hungaroring circuit. The Brazilian driver Nelson Piquet claimed his second consecutive title at Hungary in 1987 with Williams-Honda, which was his final victory at Hungary.

Who Lifted the 2018 Hungarian GP Trophy?

The 2018 Hungarian Grand Prix was won by the 5 time Champion Lewis Hamilton.

The 2018 Hungarian Grand Prix was the 33rd edition of the race, as part of the F1 World Championship and it was held at the Hungaroring circuit for the 33rd time. Since 2015, there has been a serious rival between Sebastian Vettel and the current reigning champion Lewis Hamilton for the Hungarian trophy.

Hamilton won his first title at Hungary in 2007 with McLaren-Mercedes and he won 2 more times with the same team. From 2013 onwards, Hamilton drove with Mercedes and he won 3 more titles. The Constructor Mercedes have won just 3 titles so far and all 3 wins were because of Hamilton.

Is Hamilton the Most Successful Hungarian Driver?

Sebastian Vettel claimed his first Hungarian GP title in 2015 which was followed by Hamilton’s win in 2016. Again in 2017, Vettel got back the Hungarian title to his name, which was later snatched by Hamilton in 2018. If the alternative pattern continues this year, then it is Vettel’s turn to lift the trophy in 2019.

Initially, the German driver Michael Schumacher won the Hungarian GP a record 4 times with his last victory recorded in 2004. Currently, Lewis holds the record for the most title wins at Hungary with 6 titles to his name. He broke Schumacher’s record in 2016 by winning the title for the 5th time followed by another win in 2018.

The table below shows the F1 Drivers with more than 1 Hungarian GP title to their name.

Number of WinsDriverYears won
6Lewis Hamilton2007, 2009, 2012, 2013, 2016, 2018
4Michael Schumacher1994, 1998, 2001, 2004
3Ayrton Senna1988, 1991, 1992
2Nelson Piquet1986, 1987
Damon Hill1993, 1995
Jacques Villeneuve1996, 1997
Mika Häkkinen1999, 2000
Jenson Button2006, 2011
Sebastian Vettel2015, 2017

Which 2 teams have Equal Constructors Championship?

The 1936 Hungarian GP was the only season won by Alfa Romeo. The Constructor to have collected the most Constructor’s Championship was McLaren with 11 titles. McLaren is currently on a long winless drought of 6 years as the last McLaren win was recorded in 2012 with Lewis Hamilton.

The teams that stand second with 7 titles each are Williams and Ferrari. Williams won their last Constructor’s Championship in 1997 and the Ferrari lifted the Constructor’s Championship in 2017 with Sebastian Vettel. Mercedes stand 3rd with 3 titles and Red Bull stands 4th with 2 titles to their name.

The Constructors with more than 1 Championship to their name is tabled below. 

Number of WinsConstructorYears won
11McLaren1988, 1991, 1992, 1999, 2000, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012
7Williams1986, 1987, 1990, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1997
Ferrari1989, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2015, 2017
3Mercedes2013, 2016, 2018
2Red Bull2010, 2014

Hungarian GP Past Winners

The Hungarian GP has been won by 18 unique drivers and among the 18, 9 drivers have won the trophy more than once. 9 drivers have won the trophy only once and one such driver Daniel Ricciardo holds the fastest lap record of Hungarian GP of 1:20.012 in 2014.

The table below contains the Hungarian Grand Prix Winners list since its inception in 1936.

2018Lewis HamiltonMercedesHungaroring
2017Sebastian VettelFerrari
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2015Sebastian VettelFerrari
2014Daniel RicciardoRed Bull-Renault
2013Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2012Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes
2011Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes
2010Mark WebberRed Bull-Renault
2009Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes
2008Heikki KovalainenMcLaren-Mercedes
2007Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes
2006Jenson ButtonHonda
2005Kimi RäikkönenMcLaren-Mercedes
2004Michael SchumacherFerrari
2003Fernando AlonsoRenault
2002Rubens BarrichelloFerrari
2001Michael SchumacherFerrari
2000Mika HäkkinenMcLaren-Mercedes
1999Mika HäkkinenMcLaren-Mercedes
1998Michael SchumacherFerrari
1997Jacques VilleneuveWilliams-Renault
1996Jacques VilleneuveWilliams-Renault
1995Damon HillWilliams-Renault
1994Michael SchumacherBenetton-Ford
1993Damon HillWilliams-Renault
1992Ayrton SennaMcLaren-Honda
1991Ayrton SennaMcLaren-Honda
1990Thierry BoutsenWilliams-Renault
1989Nigel MansellFerrari
1988Ayrton SennaMcLaren-Honda
1987Nelson PiquetWilliams-Honda
1986Nelson PiquetWilliams-Honda
19851937Not Held
1936Tazio NuvolariAlfa RomeoNépliget


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here