List of English Premier League Winners


The English Premier League was initially formed in the name of FA Premier League in 1992. Since the inception of the Premier League, 49 clubs have competed and 20 teams are featured every season. Premier League is considered the most-watched sports league in the world and as of 2018, it ranks second in the UEFA Coefficients of Leagues.

The Premier League is dominated by six clubs that are commonly called as the ‘Big Six’ – (Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham). With the most popular clubs playing in the League, EPL has a probable TV audience of 4.7 billion people.

Who Won the First Premier League Season?

The club that won the first Premier League season in 1993 was the England based Manchester United. The 1992-93 season was their first Premier League title win and the eighth English title win. Man United won the season with a 10-point lead over their fellow England based opponent Aston Villa.

The team to stand third in the season was Norwich City and the three relegated teams of the first premier league season were Crystal Palace, Middlesbrough, and Nottingham Forest. Since the inaugural season of the Premier League, Manchester United has won 4 EFL Cup.

Manchester City – the Reigning Champion

The 2017-18 season was won by the Manchester-based club Manchester City. The City’s match against Tottenham and the United’s match against West Brom were the deciding matches, which resulted in a 3-1 victory for the City and a 1-0 home defeat for the United. The defeat of United confirmed their rivals as champions.

The reigning champions have made a record of accumulating the highest number of points in a season – 100. The city has been relegated twice since 1992, whereas Crystal Palace, Norwich, and Sunderland have been relegated the most times – 4.

How Many Times has City Won the Premier League?

The current champion Manchester City has won the Premier League 3 times in 2012, 2014 and 2018. As an overall win, the City has won the title 5 times. 2 of the 5 wins came in 1968 and 1937 during which the Premier League was called as the Football League First Division.

Who has Won the Most English League Titles?

Man United was the first team to win the league three successive seasons in a row.

The English League has been won 13 times by the England based team Manchester United, which is considered the most successful team in EPL. Man United was the first team to win the league three successive seasons in a row. The three consecutive wins happened twice between 1998–99 to 2000–01 and during 2006–07 to 2008–09 season.

In 1998–99 season, Manchester United became the first club in the history of English football to achieve the continental European treble. They won the Premier League, FA Cup, and the UEFA Champions League during the season. The only team so far, to go an entire season without a single defeat is Arsenal during the 2003–04 season.

Which Teams have Won the Premier League Season?

Since the establishment of the English Premier League in 1992, it has been won by Six teamsManchester United is the team with the most wins – 13 times under the former football manager Sir Alex Ferguson. Other teams that have won the title are:

  • Chelsea – 5
  • Arsenal – 3
  • Manchester City – 3
  • Leicester City – 1
  • Blackburn Rovers – 1

Has Liverpool Ever Won the Premier League?

The England based football club Liverpool has won the title 18 times, breaking the record of Manchester United. Liverpool has accumulated 18 wins during the Football League First Division, which functioned from 1888-89 to 1991-92 seasons.

Since the inception of the Premier League, Liverpool has been the runners-up just 3 times and have not won the English title since 1990. Since the Premier League era, the Reds are on a long drought with their previous win in the 1989-1990 season.

List of Premier League Winners

The Manchester United club has dominated the English Premier League with 13 wins so far. They have been runner-up 6 times and is the current runner-up team of the EPL. Find the list of winners and the runners-up of the EPL since its inception in 1992.

1992–93Manchester UnitedAston Villa
1993–94Manchester UnitedBlackburn Rovers
1994–95Blackburn RoversManchester United
1995–96Manchester UnitedNewcastle United
1996–97Manchester UnitedNewcastle United
1997–98ArsenalManchester United
1998–99Manchester UnitedArsenal
1999–2000Manchester UnitedArsenal
2000–01Manchester UnitedArsenal
2002–03Manchester UnitedArsenal
2005–06ChelseaManchester United
2006–07Manchester UnitedChelsea
2007–08Manchester UnitedChelsea
2008–09Manchester UnitedLiverpool
2009–10ChelseaManchester United
2010–11Manchester UnitedChelsea
2011–12Manchester CityManchester United
2012–13Manchester UnitedManchester City
2013–14Manchester CityLiverpool
2014–15ChelseaManchester City
2015–16Leicester CityArsenal
2016–17ChelseaTottenham Hotspur
2017–18Manchester CityManchester United


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here