Russian Grand Prix


Race length: 309.732 km (192.459 mi)
Laps: 53
First held: 1913
Circuit length: 5.848 km (3.634 mi)
Number of times held: 6
Most wins (drivers): Lewis Hamilton (2)

The Russian Grand Prix is a yearly auto race held at Sochi Autodrom—a road circuit worked around Olympic Park in Sochi, Russia, as a feature of the Formula One World Championship.

The race was first held quickly in the 1910s in Saint Petersburg of the Russian Empire. Plans were made to have a Formula One occasion in Moscow for the 1983 season as the Grand Prix of the Soviet Union, these plans failed to work out. In 2010, it was authoritatively declared that the Russian city of Sochi, which was additionally planning to have the 2014 Winter Olympics, would have another occasion on the Formula One logbook, starting in 2014 under a seven-year bargain.

Pre-WWI history

The Russian Grand Prix was run twice, in 1913 and 1914 at a circuit in Saint Petersburg. The principal race was won by Russian driver Georgy Suvorin, while German Willy Scholl won the 1914 event. The race was deserted after the flare-up of the First World War and the Russian Civil War, and it was not continued with the foundation of the Soviet Union.

Formula One

Plans for a Grand Prix in Russia rose in the mid 1980s, with a proposed circuit in Moscow to be keep running under the title of the “Fantastic Prix of the Soviet Union”. The race was incorporated on a temporary logbook for 1983, however bureaucratic hindrances kept the Grand Prix from being held, and the race was expelled from every single ensuing amendment of the calendar. Nevertheless, Bernie Ecclestone proceeded in his mission to arrange a race behind the Iron Curtain, and Hungary turned into the main comrade nation to have a race rather, joining the date-book in 1986.

In 2001, Vladimir Putin, at that point filling in as President of Russia, communicated individual help to the venture of the “Pulkovskoe Ring” close to the Pulkovo Airport, yet the race never happened as intended. Another endeavor was made in 2003, with the Moscow gathering favoring a venture to manufacture a track in the Molzhaninovsky territory in the Northern District of Moscow, to be known as Nagatino Island. The undertaking was relinquished after a disagreement about the business contract. In September 2008, it was uncovered that work was to start on a Formula One circuit to be situated at the town of Fedyukino, Volokolamsky District of the Moscow Province, roughly 77 kilometers (48 mi) far from Moscow. Known as the Moscow Raceway, the track was composed by Hermann Tilke to have both Formula One and Moto GP races. The arrangement to have a Grand Prix at the Moscow Raceway was never acknowledged, however dissimilar to the Pulkovskoe Ring and Nagatino Island extends, the circuit was finished, and in 2012, facilitated rounds of the Formula Renault 3.5 and 2.0 Series – which turned into the main universally certify motorsport occasions to hold a round in Russia – and in addition the FIA GT1 World Championship, and the Superbike World Championship.

Vitaly Petrov turned into Russia’s first Formula One World Championship driver in 2010, when he joined Renault, adding further force to the undertaking. Bernie Ecclestone communicated a want to see Formula One go to Russia at a circuit in or close Moscow or at the resort city of Sochi, After a very long while of endeavoring to re-set up the race, the new Russian Grand Prix was authoritatively declared on 14 October 2010 for a presentation in 2014, going through 2020. The race is held in the resort city of Sochi, have city of the 2014 Winter Olympics, at the Sochi Autodrom—a 5.9 km road circuit which goes around the scenes Sochi’s Olympic Park.

The inaugural occasion was hung on 12 October 2014, and was won by British driver Lewis Hamilton, trailed by German driver Nico Rosberg, both from the Mercedes-Benz group, and Valtteri Bottas, of Williams.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here